Angst (Revised)

The sand is beneath me,
on which a thousand generations
have left their filth. The air smells
of frying oil, fish and salt.
I hear the raucous laughter of children,
framed against the hazy, shifting shadows
of the old light house.
The lovers’ buzz in the half dark,
is pierced by the hawkers’ shrill cry.
Scavengers feast on the left-overs
of yesterday’s contentment.
I am surrounded by those
whom they say I love.
I smile politely, nod when required.
Crabs carry my mind away to the surf –
away from the weather, politics
and varicose veins.
I flounder amongst the waves,
briefly surfacing with the question –
sinking as the faceless moon mocks,
“what more do you want?”

3 thoughts on “Angst (Revised)

  1. The imagery is tastefully done and not overwhelming. I’m guessing this was inspired by the Marina Beach? It definitely brought that to mind accurately.

    Why varicose veins though? That was random.

Leave a Reply

